Digg button
Facebook button


Honoring CIOs and CMIOs who foster a culture within their organization that enables the innovative use of technology and organizational processes to drive business value.

User Name :

Password :

Confirm Password :

Email :

Press Refresh (recaptcharefresh icon)above if the words are not readable.
Already Registered?

The winners for the 2010 Award for CIO In novation Leadership are:

Casey Coleman, CIO, U.S. General Services Administration
Winner, Public Sector

Thomas Nealon, EVP and CIO, JCPenney
Winner, Private Sector

The finalists for the 2010 Award for CIO Innovation Leadership are listed below. The winner was announced on May 19th at the Award ceremony.

Casey Coleman, CIO, U.S. General Services Administration
Thomas Nealon, EVP and CIO, JCPenney
James Noga, CIO, Massachusetts General Hospital
Christopher Rieder, SVP and CIO VITAS Innovative Hospice Care

Casey Coleman

Thomas Nealon

James Noga

Christopher Rieder

Tom Nealon's remarks


The winner of the 2009 CIO Award was Justin Lindsey, CTO of Netezza Corporation.

Finalists were:
Frank Modruson, CIO of Accenture
Dr. C. Martin Harris, CIO of The Cleveland Clinic
Jo Hoppe, CIO of PAREXEL International Corporation

Justin Lindsey

C Martin Harris MD

Jo Hoppe

Frank B. Modruson


The winner of the 2008 CIO Award was Joseph McCartin, CIO of National City Corporation.

Finalists were:
Elizabeth Hackenson, CIO of Alcatel-Lucent
Vivek Kundra, CTO of the District of Columbia Government
Richard Maranville, CIO of FedEx Kinko's Office and Print Services
Andre V. Mendes, CIO of Special Olympics International
Ken Theis, CIO of the Michigan Department of Information Technology (MDIT)

The MIT Sloan Award for IT Innovation brought many more visitors to see our innovative "stock market" idea come to life. The Award made a huge difference to influence others as well.

Vivek Kundra
Federal Chief Information Officer
Former Chief Technology Officer
District of Columbia
2008 MIT Sloan CIO Award Finalist

Joseph McCartin

Andre Mendes

Vivek Kundra

Elizabeth Hackenson

Richard Maranville

Ken Theis


Richard Soley

J. Michael O'Dell

Bob Bruce

Graham Rong

Doris Brophy

Naeem Hashmi

Ellen Quackenbush

Mike Johnson

Christopher Reichert

Dr. George Westerman

Gopi Bala


The MIT Sloan CIO Symposium 2010 Award for Innovation Leadership honors Chief Information Officers (CIOs) and Chief Medical Information Officers (CMIOs) who foster a culture within their organization that enables the innovative use of technology and organizational processes to drive business value.

The MIT Sloan CIO Symposium Award, in its third year, draws applicants from a wide diversity of industries and backgrounds. Recipients, and their organizations, receive broad recognition for their accomplishments.

The award received considerable press and was important to our organization to continue to add credibility, not only to the specific innovation, but also to the fact that our organization is an innovative one.

Justin Lindsey, CTO Netezza
2009 Winner

Recognition from MIT, highly respected for its contribution to technology innovation, further reinforced our IT organization's credibility, especially for the work that has kept us at the forefront of IT innovation.

Frank B. Modruson, CIO Accenture
2009 Finalist


Nominees must hold the title of Chief Information Officer (CIO) or Chief Medical Information Officer (CMIO).

Applicants must present accomplishments related to the appilicant's current position.

Symposium Registration is not required to be an Award nominee but is strongly encouraged.

Application Deadline

All applications must be completed online and submitted by Friday, March 19, 2010 at midnight EST.

Application Process

To apply for the award or to nominate a colleague, please create a user account and provide us with basic contact information. (Click here to create an account.)

You can complete the application online, over several sessions, saving your draft content. Once you are satisfied with your application, we ask you to submit your final application. You will be sent a copy of your final submission. (Click here to download a copy of the application and award criteria.)


All award content, including the identity of applicants, will be held in strict confidence and used only by the award judges in the judging process.

Judging Criteria

In evaluating applications, judges will be looking for the following characteristics, indicative of innovation leadership:

  • Trusted Advisor - to the CEO, CFO, and other senior executives. Incorporates IT into business decision-making by influencing business executives on IT potential, managing IT risk and participating in key operational and executive committees.
  • Consensus Builder - Gains support across stakeholder groups, combining IT, business processes and people assets to deliver the optimal solution.

  • Business Leader - Intimately aware of business challenges, competition, market trends and the organization's core competencies. Manages demand on hard and soft metrics that align to the organization's strategic and tactical roadmaps.

  • Proven Manager - delivers sustainable core IT services, enabling innovation and growth, within budget and staff constraints.

Applicants are requested to describe, in their own words, an innovation that incorporates IT and business process improvements and that delivered significant business value while fostering a culture of innovation and learning.

The application includes the following questions. Questions 1 and 2 provide context for responses to subsequent questions. Judges will rank applicants based on the following weights:

Questions Weight
Q1 Please describe your organization, responsibilities, and reporting relationship.
Q2 What is your vision for innovation leadership?
Q3 What steps have you taken to create a culture within your organization that enables your organization to pursue innovative solutions to business challenges? 25%
Q4 Describe an innovation that you successfully introduced into your organization. 35%
Q5 What results did your innovation deliver? 25%
Q6 What has been the most significant challenge you have encountered in implementing innovations? What have been the lessons learned? 15%

Judging Process

The judging process will be conducted in three phases.
A panel of CIOs, industry thought leaders and MIT-affiliated professionals will act as judges.

Phase 1: Initial Screening
Each application will be read by 3 judges and ranked based on quality, depth and completeness of the innovation. The top 10 applications will be selected for the next phase.

Phase 2: Detailed Analysis
A team of 4 judges will read each application and rank order the application based on a detailed evaluation of the response to each question. Judges will meet to discuss ranking and select top 4 to pass to next phase.

Top four finalists will be notified personally to allow preparation for interviews.

Phase 3: Interviews
A team of 3 MIT-affiliated judges will interview the four finalists to pick the winner. The winner will be notified privately to allow time to prepare a 15-minute speech. Results will be announced at May 2010 MIT CIO Symposium during a luncheon event.


Finalists will be announced in a press release on April 28th. The winner will be announced in a press release on the day of the Symposium.

Finalists will honored at an afternoon ceremony during the MIT Sloan CIO Symposium on May 19th, 2010. The winner will be asked to give a 15 minute speech.

Press interviews of the finalists will be arranged during the day of the event.

For Award-related Questions

We wish you the best of luck and look forward to your application. If you have any questions, please contact the Award Co-chairs, Ellen Quackenbush and Naeem Hashmi at